Skip To Content
University Housing - Florida State University

University Housing

University Housing Florida State University
Housing banner image

Important Residence Hall Dates

Opening/Closing Dates

Official opening date is the earliest date that students can move into their rooms. University Housing reserves the right to change these dates to reflect changes in the University calendar or for University needs.
Summer 2023*
Halls Open for Summer A/C Thursday, May 11 at 5 p.m.
Summer A/C Classes Begin Monday, May 15
Summer A Finals end Friday, June 23
Summer A Halls Close Saturday, June 24 at noon
Summer B Halls Open Thursday, June 22 at 9 am**
Summer B Classes Start Monday, June 26
Summer B/C Finals end Friday, August 4
Summer B/C Halls Close Saturday, August 5 at noon
 
Fall 2023*
Halls Open Friday, August 18***
Classes Begin Monday, August 28
Final Exams End Friday, December 15
Halls Close Saturday, December 16 at noon
 
Spring 2024
Halls Open Thursday, January 4 at 5 p.m.
Classes Begin Monday, January 8
Last Day of Classes before Spring Break Friday, March 8
Halls Close for Spring Break Saturday, March 9 at noon
Halls Open after Spring Break Sunday, March 17 at noon
Classes resume after Spring Break Monday, March 18
Finals End Friday, May 3
Halls Close Saturday, May 4 at noon

NOTE:

  1. Rent is due on the 2nd Friday after classes begin each semester. Click here for payment information.
  2. McCollum, Ragans, Rogers, and Traditions Halls do not close for Spring Break.
  3. McCollum, Ragans, Rogers, and Traditions Halls do not close for breaks between semesters (including Winter Break) provided the student is staying in the same room or moving from one apartment—style space to another.

  4. * Apppointments are required for Summer B and Fall move in

    ** Summer Bridge students have a different move in day, consult your program for details

    *** Friday, August 18 is reserved for Sorority Recruitment. General move in appointments will be available on August 19th, 20th and daily August 23rd—August 28th.

University Housing reserves the right to change dates to reflect changes in the University calendar.

Important Dates

New Resident Timeline
February 21, 2024 Fall 2024/Spring 2025 Housing contract opens for admitted students (closes May 1, 2024)
February 21-25, 2024 Fall 2024/Spring 2025 housing lottery for earliest contract numbers
February 26, 2024 Housing lottery contract numbers displayed in portal; contract re-opens
February 26, 2024 Fall/Spring roommate requests can be submitted (closes April 17, 2024)
February 26, 2024 Fall/Spring hall & room type preferences should be submitted (closes May 1, 2024)
March 7, 2024 Summer B housing contract opens (closes May 1, 2024)
April 17, 2024 Fall/Spring roommate request deadline
May 1, 2024 Fall/Spring contracts close; Fall/Spring hall & room type preference update deadline
May 1, 2024 Summer B contract closes; Summer roommate, hall & room type preference update deadline
Early June Summer B assignments sent to students
Early July Students with complete housing contracts, paid admission deposit, and orientation registration receive Fall/Spring room assignments

Return to
top of page


Division of Student Affairs at Florida State University

 

University Housing Department
Division of Student Affairs
109 Askew Student Life Building
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306

Phone: 850–644–2860
Fax: 850–644–7997
Email: housing@fsu.edu

University Housing: