Skip To Content
University Housing - Florida State University

University Housing

University Housing Florida State University
Housing banner image

About University Housing

Welcome from University Housing

Welcome to the University Housing website! Here you should be able to find all the information about the multiple on-campus housing options available to students at Florida State University. While there is no residency requirement, those of us who work with college students firmly believe that living on campus has a positive effect on students' academic success and successful transition to college. There is longstanding research which shows that students who live in a residence hall for at least one year do better academically, are more likely to graduate on time, and look back on their total experience more favorably than those who never lived on campus.

Those admitted students who apply earliest will have the most flexibility in their choice of housing options. With an enrollment of over 40,000 students, we cannot house all who request housing. So apply for housing as soon as you are admitted to ensure a place on campus. If you search the website and have questions that remain unanswered by the information provided, please contact our office for assistance. We look forward to serving you through your on-campus experience.

Our Mission

University Housing - Providing exceptional living opportunities for students to succeed academically.

Our Core Values

  • Support of the University's academic mission.
  • Student centered, inclusive environment.
  • Stewardship of fiscal, facility, and human resources.
  • Systematic assessment for quality enhancement.
  • Student development oriented service.

Our Staff


Shannon Staten

Shannon Staten Executive Director
Tel: (850) 644-3818
Fax: (850) 644-7997
sstaten@fsu.edu

Edwin Darrell

No Photo Available Director, Residential Student Experience
Tel: (850) 644-3818
Fax: (850) 644-7997
edarrell@fsu.edu

Rachel Blakesley

No Photo Available Associate Director, Residential Student Experience
Tel: (850) 644-2863
Fax: (850) 644-7997
rblakesley@fsu.edu

Douglas J. Ashcroft II

nophoto Assistant Director, Administration & Operations (Cawthon, Jennie/Reynolds/Bryan, Broward/Landis/Gilchrist)
Tel: (850) 644-2863
Fax: (850) 644-7997
dashcroft@admin.fsu.edu

Kelly Clark

No Photo Available Assistant Director, Staff Recruitment & Training (Wildwood, Ragans, Traditions)
Tel: (850) 644-2863
Fax: (850) 644-7997
kmclark@fsu.edu

Jami Kerkstra

Jami Kerkstra Assistant Director, Contracts & Assignments
Tel: (850) 644-2860
Fax: (850) 644-7997
jkerkstra@fsu.edu

Steven Kleuver

Steven Kleuver Assistant Director, Conduct & Assessment (Dorman/Deviney, Azalea/Magnolia)
Tel: (850) 644–2863
Fax: (850) 644-7997
skleuver@admin.fsu.edu

Mandy Martin

Mandy Martin Associate Director, Occupancy Management
Tel: (850) 644-2860
Fax: (850) 645-7751
msmartin@fsu.edu

Denise Mercier

Denise Mercier Coordinator, Living Learning Communities 
Tel: (850) 644-2860
Fax: (850) 645-7751
dmercier@fsu.edu

LaFarin Meriwether

LaFarin Meriwether Assistant Director, Learning & Engagement (DeGraff, Rogers/McCollum, Salley)
Tel: (850) 644-2863
Fax: (850) 644-7997
lmeriwether@fsu.edu

David Sagaser

David Sagaser Director, Facility Services
Tel: (850) 644-3818
Fax: (850) 645-4858
dsagaser@fsu.edu

Tiffany Karnisky

Tiffany Karnisky Associate Director, FSU Childcare & Early Learning Programs
Tel: (850) 644-5664
tkarnisky@admin.fsu.edu

Daniel Sheets

Daniel Sheets Associate Director, Facility Services
Tel: (850) 644-1871
Fax: (850) 645-4858
dsheets@fsu.edu

Stacie Kurlick

Stacie Kurlick Assistant Director, Facilities Administration & Conference Services
Tel: (850) 644-7993
Fax: (850) 645-4858
skurlick@admin.fsu.edu

William Langley

No Photo Assistant Director, Housing Custodial Services
Tel: (850) 644–1871
Fax: 850) 645–4858
wlangley@fsu.edu

Dana O'Connor

Dana O'Connor Center Director, Copeland Street Location
Tel: (850) 644-0003
doconnor2@fsu.edu

Beth Roberts

Beth Roberts Center Director, FSU Children's Center Location
Tel: (850) 645-9576
Fax: (850) 645-9572
eroberts@admin.fsu.edu

Maclain Benton

Maclain Benton Associate Director of Budget & Finance
Tel: (850) 644-7971
Fax: (850) 644-7997
mbenton2@fsu.edu

Jason Lammert

Jason Lammert IT Manager
Tel: (850) 644-2860
Fax: (850) 644-7997
jlammert@fsu.edu

Helen Miller

Helen Miller Business Manager
Tel: (850) 644-7991
Fax: (850) 644-7997
hmiller2@fsu.edu

Contact Us

Contact University Housing Office

(850) 644-2860

(850) 644-7997


Visit Us

109 Askew Student Life Building


Mail to University Housing

Via U.S. Mail, FedEx / UPS / DHL:
University Housing
942 Learning Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4174


Contact Our Residence Halls

Photo of Broward Hall

Broward Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Bryan Hall

Bryan Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Cawthon Hall

Cawthon Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Degraff Hall

Degraff Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Deviney Hall

Deviney Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Dorman Hall

Dorman Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Gilchrist Hall

Gilchrist Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Jennie Murphree Hall

Jennie Murphree Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Landis Hall

Landis Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of McCollum Hall

McCollum Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Ragans Hall

Ragans Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Reynolds Hall

Reynolds Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Rogers Hall

Rogers Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Salley Hall

Salley Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Traditions Hall

Traditions Hall

Contact Us »

Photo of Wildwood Hall

Wildwood Hall

Contact Us »

RSO Lounge Request

The RSO Lounge Request form must be submited at least 10 days in advance of your event. A hall representative will contact you to inform you if space has been made available for your organization. We strongly recommend that no publicity be issued with the requested venue mentioned until a representative has contacted your organization. All hall government and staff functions are given priority for common area usage.

Submit a Request »

Policy & Guidelines for Advertising within University Residence Halls

The following guidelines contain FSU Residential Student Experience’s policy on distribution of promotional fliers and the solicitation to students in the residence halls. Upon approval, these fliers will be placed in common areas of residence halls by University Housing staff. Commercial solicitation, sale of goods, sale of services, or any material that can be considered promotion of a commercial business is prohibited by Residential Student Experience.

To continue reading the policy and guidelines, click the button below.

Review Policy »

Return to
top of page


Division of Student Affairs at Florida State University

 

University Housing Department
Division of Student Affairs
109 Askew Student Life Building
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306

Phone: 850–644–2860
Fax: 850–644–7997
Email: housinginfo@fsu.edu

University Housing: